City Lights

As a part of my “duty”, I have to go to each girl’s room in my hostel and take attendance. When I do that every week, I spend the longest time on the 11th floor.  That’s because I can see the lights of the city from that floor.

I love city lights. I love standing on over head bridges and looking at cars with bright headlights coming towards me and going away from me. I love looking at far away buildings that are matchbox-like HDB buildings by the day but turn into what look like a thousand chandeliers by the night. Everything looks different. Just different.

Sometimes when I am up late rushing a report or a proposal for the next day, I stop for a few minutes, stand next to my window and watch the traffic lights go red from green and back to red. Perfectly on time, unaffected by the absence of any traffic on the road. Sometimes I try to find a melody in the relentless switching of traffic lights, I try to imagine a certain song that the world might be trying to set itself to.

I like that silence. That is one moment when my brain switches off and forgets all the pending lab reports and tutorials, proposals and student testimonials, tickets to sell and next rehearsal dates. I think it’s good to blank out your brain sometimes. It brings me calm and makes me realize the value of silence in my otherwise chaotic and over-worked life.

This entry was posted in early morning thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to City Lights

  1. Bharat says:

    You’re sounding very Zen today :) I kinda like it…

    If only more people stopped and looked at the lights a little more often… we’d probably have less strife…

  2. Komal says:

    Thank you, Bharat! I think it’s the side effect of stress.. heh

    You are like the firstest person who ever reads my blogs.. it’s awesome! Thankyou! :)

  3. peeves says:

    :( I want to be the firstest person.

    And yeah, I agree, I like this post. Very much.

  4. AJ says:

    me too…
    and I totally agree about the going blank moments… it helps so much… :D

  5. Komal says:

    @Shweta: Okay okay, next time can lah! hahah

    @AJ: Oh yeaa, it does.. At least for the next couple of days =)

  6. ray says:

    Hi ,

    I was reading ur blog posts and found some of them to be very good.. u write well.. Why don’t you popularize it more.. ur posts on ur blog ‘quarter past seven’ took my particular attention as some of them are interesting topics of mine too;

    BTW I help out some ex-IIMA guys who with another batch mate run http://www.rambhai.com where you can post links to your most loved blog-posts. Rambhai was the chaiwala at IIMA and it is a site where users can themselves share links to blog posts etc and other can find and vote on them. The best make it to the homepage!

    This way you can reach out to rambhai readers some of whom could become your ardent fans.. who knows.. :)

    Cheers,

  7. againsttheegrain says:

    Love.
    I miss reading your blog.
    Im finally back in the blogging world.
    And let me tell you, what a nice blog to get me started.

    I like making my mind blank. You’re right when you say you learn to appreciate it, especially when life is endlessly chaotic. I find too sometimes, that we’re always so stimulated by things around us that is so hard to get that blank slate, so when you do, its brilliant!
    And lights, who doesnt like lights. I love lights. City lights.

  8. Komal says:

    againstthegrain: yayyyy! you are back!! I’ve missed you! And I saw yesterday I have quite a lot to catch up on!

Leave a Reply

