And one more thing…

It’s 1:15 am and I am awake. This usually doesn’t happen. But I have this thing on my mind and I don’t know how to turn it into words. I don’t think I can sleep until I rant about it though.

You know, when our Programme Team plans for an upcoming event, we always think about what we want the students to take away from the whole experience. We want to shape the event such that everyone learns something, even if it is putting up chinese new year decorations. We focus on things such as working as a team, being tolerant of people who are different from us and giving to the community. But above all, we focus on having fun. If we realize that everyone had fun, we consider the event a success regardless of the number of hours spent on the planning, the number of minutes we went out of schedule or the amount of money spent on the event.

I realize how easy it is to start competing for everything. To engage in activities in order to go one step ahead of others. To plan each moment such that it adds value to yourself in order to give you an edge over the others while looking for a job. And in doing so, an essential part of meaningful existence is forgotten. When was the last time you did something ‘just for fun’? Without any purpose or intentions. Do you ever stop just to observe what is going around? In trying to be better than someone else, we have forgotten to add meaning to our own lives. We have forgotten how to enjoy.

Please do yourself a favour today. Do something, anything, just for fun. Just because you have always wanted to do it but never put it on top of your priority list because there is always something more ‘important’. Just once. Try it.

This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And one more thing…

  1. shweta says:

    you’re baack! you are, aren’t you?

  2. Me says:

    oh YEAA!! :D

  3. Bharat says:

    They’re dead. Every last one of them.

    And I’ve got too many things to do to ‘just for fun’. Fun doesn’t make me money, nor is it a good investment.

    Not really though, I make myself go out every weekend no matter how tired I am, and I never regret it (Even though my wallet ends up doing just that!).

Leave a Reply

